Skip to content

Trixie’s Summer Wardrobe Wishlist

September 30, 2009

For those of us in the Southern Hemisphere Summer is approaching.

This is, suprisingly, my least favorite season in Melbourne. Every year I whine and complain about the heat and hot winds, but not this year friends! No, this year I need to learn to love, or at least tolerate Melbourne Summers. Cos I ain’t moving!

To this end I’m trying to bring on the ‘yay Summer, super positive fun’ vibes early with my Super Summer Wardrobe Wish List.

Floor-Length Skirts. 

I have to admit that I adore full-on, floor-length, so-long-that-I-have-to-pick-the-hem-up-to-ascend-stairs maxi skirts. They swish and swirl and dance about in the wind and make me feel like a princess. A princess that doesn’t have to shave her legs but on the negative side who has to make sure not to tuck the hem of the skirt into her underpants after using the facilities and then leave the apartment like that.

True story.

I love them but beware of the swishy bastards for they’re also dangerous. You’ve been warned.

 

I want one of each in- Florals: Preferably this one! The colours are a.mazing. Totally my palette, totally not my size. Stupid tiny old school ladies. Uncool

Asos.com

Asos.com

Striped: But If I could have this fabric, but longer and more A-line so that it would swish about. I think I may have found it, but it’s a dress, so I’ll just chop the top off, there’s going to be a lot of that methinks

And tie-dye: I can’t find one I like online, so chance are there’s gonna be some white jersey sewing and dip dying in my future.

 Backless or Low-Backed Tops

il_fullxfull.91837861

By Zelaya.etsy.com

Is there anything nicer than the feeling of sun on the nape of your neck and back?

Well, a hug is pretty nice, so is a warm bed, and receiving compliments. But sun feels nice too. 

Ah, you get the point.

Sunscreen essential of course! 

Hand Fan

KC5129g

Abstract Floral Hand Fan from Ideco.com

Not that a fan is particularly helpful when the wind and breeze is the source of the heat, but it does look pretty darn classy, and dries out the face sweat (ew), so it’s in. Gotta get me one!

The Perfect Summer Wedges

These’ll feature minimal skin coverage, fairly high wedge heels, a front platform, and will be turquoise. I’m fairly flexible on the other details

Alas, to this day I still can’t find them.  

Help?

Anyone got any suggestions?

Honourable Mentions

Massive water bottles, hand moisturiser, sunscreen, finding a great pair of sunnies, contacts so I can wear sunnies, Havaianas, BBQs, hot pink toe-nails, beer-gardens, beer.

 

What are some items that will be, or have been, your Summer essentials?

Also what do you love about Summer? 

signature1

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 5:13 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

