Skip to content

Colour, Colour, Colour.

October 27, 2009

IMGP3809

I took this photo (above) out on a walk yesterday and it got me to thinking about looking for colour/pattern combinations around the apartment. So I went on a colour hunt!

IMGP3869In the thread drawer,
IMGP3883In the clothes rack,
IMGP3871Amongst the stationary,
IMGP3885On the bed,

IMGP3839On this dress,
IMGP3874

And among the knick-knackery. 

It’s only in the last year or so that I’ve come to understand just how important colour is to me. The right colours can actually change my mood, I’m sure of it. That’s why I’m so in love with my quilt cover, it has the magical blue and pink comb that lifts my spirits. And why I’ll pay extra for an item  if it comes in pink. Conversely I’m turned off by the wrong colours, like the poor royal blue pair of socks that I never want to wear because it isn’t on of my favourite colours. This is also why I’m a bit scared to get a colour tattoo, what if the colours don’t turn out right? I couldn’t stand having a colour I didn’t love on me forever!

Sheesh, I expect you think I’m a bit crazy now, right?

Do you think that maybe I’ll turn into one of those people who wear monochrome from head to toe? Probably. But I guess if it made me happy then it can’t be such a bad thing! 😉

Anyway, I’m sure I’m not the only one. Shout out fellow colour control-freaks!

signature1


4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 1:06 am

    This isn’t crazy at all! I do the same thing 🙂 And I think its kinda neat to see how many similar colors are repeated in your photos above – that probably means those colors really are special to you! I’ve been hesitant to get a color tattoo for the same reason. And I find that I gravitate towards teal, purple, red, pink and chartreuse. Other colors typically send me away from the items or locations unless they really suit the situation. I do find with my clothing – I buy almost all black because sometimes I can’t find the colors I like! So I have this super dark wardrobe with lots of spot colors. I tend to use my jewelry, tights, hair and shoes to be colorful…

    So yeah – much control freak love – haha <3! I don't think there is anything wrong with this – if anything, it shows how in-tune you are with yourself! 🙂

    • Trixie permalink*
      October 29, 2009 10:50 am

      Agreed on the mostly black wardrobe and colourful shoes!

      I’m actually ecstatic because my colours are part of the fashion palette right now (aqua, lilac, turquoise, fuchsia and hot pink, it could be a southern hemisphere Spring thing), so designers are making things in my colours YAY!

      I was not a big fan when mustard yellow and emerald green were in. Those were dark, dark times.

  2. October 28, 2009 10:01 am

    Love this post, i tend to stick to the same colours when it comes to clothes, web deisgn and even my choice of nail varnish! Nothing wrong with that:)

    I completely agree about the tatto problem – mine is in colour and although i love it, i sometimes wish it was in just black/white so it would not clash with as many of my outfits!

    Love the site,come and say hi if you get the chance! http://www.jeniwren.com

    • Trixie permalink*
      October 29, 2009 10:55 am

      Absolutely right Jeni! Nothing wrong with that at all. I’m wearing nail polish that matches my site right now. Hehe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

