Skip to content

The Year I Learned to Love (tolerate) Summer

December 22, 2009

credit

 

We have a tricky relationship, Summer and I. I feel that at times it can get suffocating and wants to kill me and Summer doesn’t give a shit about my opinions and will keep on doing it’s thing year after year after year. The issue is that I don’t plan on leaving Melbourne any time soon, so I guess that I’m the one that has to change.

Well, see, I did have another choice, but that was between buying an air-conditioner or buying a fancy camera.

You know what I chose.

So, I gotta suck it up and learn to love it.

How am I going to cope? Well….

 ‘Tis the season of fresh fruit salads and BERRIES! Yum, yum, yum! Peaches and mangoes are in season. Gotta love that.

See a lot of movies at the air-conditioned cinema.

Go to work early to avoid both the afternoon heat and the sweaty, smelly & packed peak-hour trams.

 Enjoying the Christmas/holiday season! Yes, I’m getting excited about it this year. Because I can.

Buy 2 spray bottles. Both filled with water, one in the fridge chilling, spraying myself in the face with the other.

Thongs, dresses, skirts= uniform.

Cold showers before bed.

Night Market!

Loving how the city unites over the heat. “Isn’t it hot!” “Hmm, yes, this time last year…… blah blah.”

Movies in unusual locales: Rooftops, Botanical Gardens etc.

Icy cold beer.

Staying positive! Summer is already 1/3 over. Only two months to go. It ain’t gonna kill me. Some people love this weather. I can too.

Hot weather encourages exercise! I want to wear a bikini and go swimming, two things which are certainly not happening any time soon.

Water, water, water, water, water! One bottle in the fridge, one in the hand, and one in the handbag.

Work is air-conditioned.

The crazy heat in my apartment will force me to get out and about and go places. Like the supermarket, to stock up on Paddle Pops. Rainbow of course.

By knowing that this time next year I’ll be in PARIS!!

Planning my winter wardrobe!

Come on now, help a girl out. What’s to love about Summer in your neck of the woods? If you’re in Winter-times, what do you miss about the HOTNESS? I need more things to love, apart from the fact that it only lasts for three months.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. dollyasylum permalink
    December 22, 2009 3:12 pm

    Hello there! I saw yr comment on Katie Senior’s blog, and thought that anybody with a PINK christmas tree must be kinda cool! And now I see you’re a fellow Melbournite, AND a fellow pink haired lass, AND a fellow creator of hair accessories! So now I’m following yr blog. Just thought I’d pop in to say HI 🙂
    Ah…summer, my LEAST favourite season :S I’m not very used to Melb summers yet, but thankfully we’re having some pretty mild days lately. Plus there is the consolation of Xmas prezzies and food in a few days, and Faith No More concerts in Feb! Summer will FLY by! That’s what I’m telling myself anyway 🙂

    • Trixie permalink*
      December 25, 2009 9:41 am

      We’re super-awesome-mega-wicked TWIINNNSSS!

      I bet you loved the recent 39 degree day as much as I did! Only 2 months to go!

  2. December 23, 2009 8:09 am

    I *LOVE* summer! Nothing makes me happier 🙂 I need to migrate to warmer climates. Wellington never gets over low 20s…

    x

    • Trixie permalink*
      December 25, 2009 9:37 am

      So. Damn. Jealous.

Leave a Reply

