Skip to content

Random Friday

January 8, 2010

  • The job search has begun. Truth be told, I am totally terrified. Terrified of new work-mates, of struggling to learn new skills, and  of working nine-to-five, mon-fri. I’ve never done that before! But, I am still excited about not having to travel for an hour on the tram at midnight just to get home, no customers, no drunks, no uniform, and getting to wear heels!
  • Portia diRossi’s american accent is weird.
  • I’ve been almost wholly preoccupied with finishing three embroidered doilies that I’m making for an art competition. The deadline is in one week. Haven’t finished a single one. Not one. Shittin’ myself.
  • The National Gallery of Victoria- International has a couple of great exhibitions on one on Draping in Fashion and Textiles. And the other on Chinoiserie. As soon as I finish the doilies, I’ll be there in a shot.
  • My sister is off to Japan in a couple of months, so JEALOUS!! I’ll be making her a shopping list, a long one that includes kimonos, stationary, toys and hair clips

Alas, that is all right now. Me, the couch and my embroidery hoop have just been and will continue to be the bestest of best buddies up until the sixteenth. All three pieces for the comp are almost finished, but I haven’t even finished designing the last one!! Eeeeee!!!  Why do I pick such time consuming mediums, why couldn’t I just do collage like my friend? Anyhoo, I’ll keep plugging along, they will be finished, what remains to be seen is how much sleep I will be getting in these last few days.

Wish me luck!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. dollyasylum permalink
    January 9, 2010 9:38 pm

    Embroider! Embroider like the wind!
    I’m VERY good at leaving big projects to the last minute too 🙂 If you’re anything like me, the pressure probably helps it to get done on time! Good luck anyhoo gal 😉

    I wanna go to japan SO BAAAD!
    In the meantime, I’ll have to go check out those exhibitions. They sound GAWGEOUS!

    • Trixie permalink*
      January 18, 2010 7:02 am

      HaHA! The pressure of a looming deadline is a pretty darn good motivator!

  2. January 11, 2010 7:14 am

    Oh how much fun for your sister Japan is where I want to visit the most JEALOUS.

    Good luck for your new job. What is it? I’m sure you’ll be fine you’ll be “new hot girl” for a while hahaha ;-P x

    • Trixie permalink*
      January 18, 2010 7:08 am

      Japan would be amazing!

      I’m trying to get a PA/ admin job even though I have no experience and hot pink hair. What do you think my chances are??
      The dream job would be to PA for a shoe designer. That would be EPIC. But I’m sort of giggling at the idea of me walking into these offices for my interview and their reactions. If it bothers them enough to not hire me, well, then I wouldn’t want to work for them anyway!

      worry worry worry worry fear of rejection worry worry worry

  3. January 19, 2010 7:24 am

    Hrmm I don’t know about the hair (uh oh) I’d have to say chances are slim (sorry to be blunt!) but it is a front-line role and they don’t praise on creativity they praise on attention to detail, organisation, initiative and hard work… you are the first impression of the company and it’s shallow but they probably want their first impression to be professional not hey cool babe with pink hair ;-P

    BUT YOU CAN ALWAYS TRY

    If you’re not working for a corporate company then an assistant job could be fun huh especially if you assisted someone that could act as a kind of mentor to you and then, one day, PA for a shoe designer. I’m thinkign Alexander McQueen here. hehehe. Free shoes you’ll spare rooms to use as waredrobe space hehehe

    xo

    • Trixie permalink*
      January 19, 2010 2:11 pm

      I totally understand that most business wouldn’t want anything to do with me, including the one at which I currently work. If I walked in off the street like this I doubt I would’ve even gotten a trial! Which is such a shame because I’m a pretty tops employee if I do say so myself! It’s just so frustrating to be expressing a part of yourself so openly and have it misinterpreted or received so badly. But I’ve continued applying for jobs (mostly at places and companies with a creative bent) and if I get an interview I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes! I’m going to be so scared of walking in to that office!

      McQueen, here I come!

Leave a Reply

