Skip to content

Linden Postcard Show 2010

January 17, 2010

The ‘My Town’ series

Coin Launderette 2009

Zone 1 2009

Home 2009

In previous years I’d chosen to embroider images of more obvious Melbourne landmarks onto doilies, as seen here in 2008, and here in 2009. I was interested in exploring the contrast of the heavy architectural forms with the inherent softness of both the medium and technique of embroidery. However this year I thought I’d look into my own personal landmarks and try a more imaginative style. Less ‘traditional doily’ and more, um, cartoony I guess.

So, now I guess it remains to be seen if the people like these as much as the previous year’s efforts. At least if they don’t then I’ll be perfectly happy to hang on to all three!

Whaddaya think? Would it make your Nanna proud?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. dollyasylum permalink
    January 18, 2010 9:30 pm

    WOW! I love the fusion of Nanna craft and pop art! So cool. Very original, and very well done- you are one very patient lady! The “coin laundrette” is my fave . Best of luck for the show! *crosses fingers* You could do your own exhibition of funky embroidery methinks….? I’d go see it fo’ sho’ 🙂

    • Trixie permalink*
      January 19, 2010 9:34 am

      Aw, thanks love! It’s def. something I want to think about doing.

      • dollyasylum permalink
        January 21, 2010 3:05 pm

        yeah, do it! I love the combination of two completely different aesthetics…I saw these cross stitch pieces on a blog somewhere that you would love- they were mostly text, with things like “Get Fucked” and “Crack Whore” stitched on to the fabric :D. Complete with fancy, old fashioned frames. They looked so damn cool.I reckon you’d dig them. Must find a link!!!

      • Trixie permalink*
        January 22, 2010 1:45 pm

        I think I know the works you mean, they’re pretty awsome!

  2. January 19, 2010 7:20 am

    Cute x

Leave a Reply

