Skip to content

Things I Love Thursday

January 28, 2010

credit

I LURRRV this image of stylist Catherine Baba. I love her kimono, that she’s wearing a kimono, how she’s wearing the kimono, (tucked up into a belt and loosely wrapped, open at the front, it makes it look like a bustle at the back, I HAVE to work out how to do this!) I love that she’s riding a bike in those heels, I love those heels, I love the pose he’s managed to catch her in. So graceful! I love how she doesn’t take herself too seriously. Aw hell, I love her in general. Go here for the whole collection of pics Chocolate: we’ve been apart for too long! Having a clean and organised apartment The fact that I found out that I can do my Art History Honours part time and ONLINE! Study without the poverty, who’d have thunk it!   Everything Rococo Tiny tailored blazers with shiny lapels pink shiny love hearts stuck to everything rearranging the lounge/office area, it makes the place feel brand new and airy Tram rides Kimonos New calendar anticipations- maybe I don’t love this, I want my calendar already!  Getting excited about being able to go back to Uni (again!) to write a thesis. I’ve always wanted to write a thesis. I even love saying the word! THHHHEEESSIIIIISSSS. Also getting excited about buying Uni stationary and pens, and stickers AND having an excuse to buy massive reference books from Amazon!   That Art Vs Science got the number two position in the Hottest 100!! Trying to remember all my french lessons in preperation for the trip at the end of the year, annnnnnd also for the reading of primary resources! YAY! Do you think if I spend enough time at the  Bibliotheque Nationale I can claim my time in Paris in Dec as a research trip? Loving and appreciating all my beautiful friends who know me too well and love me in spite of it! ❤ 



I love her accent in this interview! A mish-mash of American, French, Australian ridiculousness. Do you think she’d adopt me and carry me around in her saddle bag?

No?

Crap.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. dollyasylum permalink
    January 29, 2010 1:05 pm

    I adore kimonos too 🙂 I’d love to own one. I’d probably look ridiculous in it, but I’d wear it anyway. One of the reasons I want to go to japan is so i can see REAL LIVE geisha and snap zillions of photos of them in their beautiful attire!
    Gawsh, Ms. Baba just OOZES style!

    Wow, a thesis! I would find that intimidating! You sound pretty excited about it though, so good for you , girl! best of luck ! 🙂

    • Trixie permalink*
      January 29, 2010 1:37 pm

      Oh, dude! Kimonos are a great way to add volume and drama to an outfit. My short black sheer one is fab layered over something sparkly and short. I’ve seen short ones in Made in Japan (find them at Chadstone or there’s one in the city) My sister found a fantastic little velvet kimono-style jacket at Zigu-zagu in Richmond and there’s a kimono shop upstair in the building that Retrostar is in ( I can never remember the name of that building!) The Queen Vic night market on Wednesdays has a kimono stall as well. Apart from shoes they’re my fav thing to shop for, they always fit!
      I’m insisting that my sis go to Kyoto when she’s over there this year to see the geisha, and that she buy me second hand kimonos and obis. Have you read any of the books by Liza Dalby? She’s ace.
      I was dancing around work last night singing my ‘I’m gonna write a thesis’ song and I did discover that not everyone finds that such an exciting prospect! I get to research and write about a topic that really interests me for a year! What’s not to love! Also btw this is thanks to that post you did on ‘if money was no object’. So THANK YOU for helping me realise what I want to do!

      • dollyasylum permalink
        January 31, 2010 12:44 pm

        EEE! Thanks for da info! I’ll definitely be going Kimono hunting now 🙂
        Awww, i feel honoured that i played a small part in your decision to write a thesis! That’s really cool 🙂 With enthusiasm like yours, you’re bound to do exceptionally well!

      • Trixie permalink*
        February 1, 2010 11:04 pm

        Thanks so much!

  2. January 30, 2010 7:26 pm

    awesome! i have a bike too hehe they are so fun 🙂 xxx

    • Trixie permalink*
      February 1, 2010 11:02 pm

      I have a pink and white bike that lives in my lounge room. It has been outside a total of two times in the space of a year.
      Once when I moved in, and once a few weeks later.

      BIKE OWNERSHIP FAIL

Leave a Reply

