Skip to content

And I’ll Be…

February 5, 2010

credit

If I were a month, I’d be July

If I were a day of the week, I’d be Monday

If I were a time of day, I’d be dawn

If I were a sea animal, I’d be a sea horse

If I were a direction, I’d be North

If I were a piece of furniture, I’d be a velvet upholstered Chaise Longue 

If I were a liquid, I’d be pink champagne.

If I were a gemstone, I’d be a freakin’ huge diamond

If I were an art historical period, I’d be the Rococo period

If I were a flower, I’d be a lilac coloured rose

If I were a kind of weather, I’d be rain 

If I were a musical instrument, I’d be a harp

If I were a color, I’d be pink, of course!

If I were an emotion, I’d be joyful curiosity mixed with anticipation.

If I were a fruit, I’d be a passionfruit

If I were a sound, I’d be the pop of the champagne cork

If I were an element, I’d be fire

If I were a car, I’d be a chauffeur driven one

If I were a food, I’d be a cupcake or a glittery Oreo

If I were a place, I’d be a cottage-stye garden

If I were a material, I’d be brocade

If I were a taste, I’d be sweet

If I were a scent, I’d be Miss Dior Cherie

If I were an object, I’d be a hot-air balloon

If I were a body part, I’d be the neck

If I were a facial expression, I’d be quizzical

If I were a song, I’d be Happy Birthday

If I were a pair of shoes, I’d be colourful sky-high high heels

(Totally stolen from Scattered Starlight)

Lately I needed a reminder of who I am. If there’s one thing that frantic job searching does, it gives your confidence and sense-of-self a real beating. Particularly when you’re told that there is something about the way you choose to present yourself that employers find a real turn-off. And that in order to get ahead in the world, you have to change who you are and find another way to express yourself.

I need a new job, and I don’t need to make things more difficult for myself. I just need to remember that even though my pinkness and I are going on a temporary break, I’m still that pink-haired girl at heart.


8 Comments leave one →
  1. dollyasylum permalink
    February 7, 2010 8:18 pm

    Who was the asshole that told you that “there is something about the way you choose to present yourself that employers find a real turn-off. ” shit? Great way to boost the confidence! Jeez. It makes me so SICK that people are so damn judjemental. we’re supposed to all be robots or something. I hate it. The quote at the top of this post really sums it up!
    Best of luck girl, and HUGS. But you know how it is: Pink hair one day, heroin dealing the next *eyeroll*. Hopefully you find an employer who ISN”T a narrowminded little pratt, and you get to be YOU without feeling guilty.

    • Trixie permalink*
      February 8, 2010 11:42 am

      THANK YOU for the luck and the hugs. If I didn’t want this particular job so much I wouldn’t even consider changing my hair, but them’s the breaks. Even if the person hiring you doesn’t have a problem with the hair, there will always be someone higher up who might and no one wants to risk it. Sad face.

  2. dollyasylum permalink
    February 7, 2010 8:23 pm

    Oh, P.s. On a happier note, great list!

    • Trixie permalink*
      February 8, 2010 11:43 am

      Thanks you! It was really fun to finish off the statements and to think about what sort of person you are.

  3. February 9, 2010 5:00 am

    I absolutely loved doing this! How interesting that you chose pink champagne. It definitely sounds classy and yummy 🙂

    • Trixie permalink*
      February 9, 2010 9:44 pm

      Ha! ‘classy and yummy’ is how I will be describing myself from now on!

  4. February 9, 2010 8:38 am

    That’s a lovely image and a lovely saying! Thanks for making me smile ^_^ hehe…

    Mm I like pink champagne and huge diamonds. July is my birth month. I adore your entire list actually it’s very fun and playful. X

    • Trixie permalink*
      February 9, 2010 9:46 pm

      It’s my birth month too! It’s also tax return time so every July for me is all about achieving goals and spoiling myself.

Leave a Reply

