Skip to content

All Fluff and Feathers

March 1, 2010

 

Hi all! The hairpiece thing I mentioned the other day?

VOILA! 

MASSIVE! One week before the wedding, the bride comes to me and in hushed and anxious tones tells me the Tale of the Tiara. Not an exciting tale, but whatevs. Point it, she got talked into a tiara and then had her practise hair done, only to realise that it didn’t work with the tiara. The tiara she didn’t even want in the first place. Could I pretty please make her a delightful feathered concoction in 4 days? Hell YES I can!

It was a relatively quick project that presented unique challenges (such as what to do when you stupidly used citrus based sticky-shit remover on gem-things that are stuck in with glue, leading to the glue being dissolved and the gem-things falling out of their settings) and a chance to work in a style so different from my own, and with materials I’ve not played with before. Also, gettin’ paid! So in the end it was all win, win, win!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. dollyasylum permalink
    March 1, 2010 3:41 pm

    Ooh la la! That is gorgeous….le sigh! Very impressive, especially considering you were given VERY short notice!
    I’m probably not the marrying type…but if by some bizarre twist of fate I do actually walk down the aisle someday, I can only hope to wear something as pretty! Um, obviously I’d be wearing other clothes and stuff too, just so you know.

    • Trixie permalink*
      March 3, 2010 3:52 pm

      Naked wedding! What an inspired idea. Save thousands! I agree on the “not the marrying type” thang. Nothing legally binding is my motto, makes it too hard to break up! (last of the great romantics, me)

  2. March 2, 2010 9:24 am

    Oh! Fancy pants! FAB darlin’ x

  3. March 2, 2010 9:24 am

    I’m very impressed!!!!!

  4. Gill permalink
    March 20, 2010 4:40 pm

    It looks great. You did a fantastic job considering the time available. The jewel looks very period and the whole thing slightly Edwardian.

Leave a Reply

