Skip to content

Job Search 2010 Update

March 8, 2010

Some 2010 Job Huntin’ Stats:

  • Time elapsed: Jan 6th to March 8th 
  • Jobs Applied for: approx 40 (goodness gracious!)
  • Phone Interviews: 5
  • Face to Face Interviews: 3
  • Rejection emails: 7
  • Rejection Phone Calls: 2
  • Ignored By: approx 31 potential employers
  • Overall strike rate: Not great obviously
  • Mood: still positive – most of the time 
  • Lessons Learnt: (1) Be yourself always, but make it the shiniest, sparkliest, best version of yourself. Don’t let a stranger in a pink suit tell you otherwise. Only you know what’s best for you. Somewhere out there is a job in a workplace that likes you and your personality. The best response I got from one of my many applications was the one where I put more of myself and my personality into it. Both in appearance and content. However, I didn’t go all out. I think you have to save some of the crazy for after they hire you. (2) Life-changing goals on paper seem all easy and stuff but the getting of them is a long hard slog. Persistence, persistence, persistence. Keep thinking about the positive outcome and how amazing it will be, because it will happen if you keep at it. I will have a new job, and with it a whole new stable, normal life with a routine, more sleep, less leg and back pain and a regular income (not to mention holiday pay and sick leave!!!!!!). And it will be fucking sweet!
  • Next Step: Keep on plugging away and apply for more jobs, what else!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 12:15 pm

    I feel ya here.. keep up that positive attitude darlin’! KEEP TRYING

    x

    • Trixie permalink*
      March 9, 2010 8:10 am

      Thanks Katie! You too!

  2. dollyasylum permalink
    March 9, 2010 6:34 pm

    Good luck, girl! You are very positive, which has gotta help!
    You seem quite organised too!
    I gots my fingaz crossed for you- and my eyes. It’s becoming hard to type actually.
    You deserve something awesome. I really do hope you find it SOOOOOON!

    • Trixie permalink*
      March 11, 2010 11:44 am

      Ha ha! You must look really pretty with those crossed eyes and I am impressed with your typing abilities, in spite of your limitations- crossed fingaz-wise.

      Thank you for the luck and the love!

      xx

Leave a Reply

