Skip to content

In Praise of Being Fickle

March 15, 2010

credit

Confession: I can be a bit fickle (no! really! you crazy cat). I know this, my friends all know this. On the career front alone I’ve wanted to pursue dreams of being a: writer, fashion designer, shop owner, costume designer, curator, conservator, illustrator, shoe designer, milliner, and academic. I announced recently over dumplings that I would be abandoning the v-neck in all its forms, only to go out and buy a v-neck cardigan a week later. One minute I hate mushrooms and pumkins the next, I’m eating them. It’s very confusing for people who invite me to dinner parties, or who care about me in any way.

I’ve copped a bit of slack for all this flip-flopping in the past from some of my more stable and dependable friends and colleagues. Those who stick with their decisions, who never adapt, never bend, tend to view us much more mercurial folk as flighty and irresponsible. Well I say nay fellow fickle-istas! I’m ok with changing my mind a lot. Sometimes it’s necessary to be able to change your views. We don’t have all the information at the time we make a decision, we learn, we change, and we grow. I love continually having new options open up before me and I say it’s ok to be variable.

6 reasons it’s good to be a bit flighty

  • You discover more about yourself every time you try on a different job/writing style/likes and dislikes
  • The world grows so much bigger and more amazing when you’re flexible with plans, dreams and schemes
  • It’s a great skill to be able to adopt new information and adjust your thoughts and feelings accordingly
  • Variety. Spice of life. Yadda yadda.
  • Each decision you make and pursue, and then change and then make and then pursue (and on and on and on) adds skills, knowledge and experiences to your life
  • Keeps friends and family on their toes when choosing presents for you

Got any other reasons? Are you one of the fickle fellowship?  SING IT!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dollyasylum permalink
    March 22, 2010 2:31 pm

    Omigosh. Are you my long lost twin???
    I think it’s good not to be too rigid. True, it can get confusing for our poor friends, but it sure as hell aint boring! Unpredictable and mercurial is the only way to go! (for me anyway! It’s the only way i CAN be!)
    It’s so true that every little thing I’ve tried but then decided wasn’t for me has enriched my life with experience. It does get a bit frustrating sometimes…I often wonder just WHEN (or IF) i will ever find my true calling in life….but then I need to see that search as an adventure- making the most of the “journey” I guess, instead of worrying about wether I will get to my destination in time.
    It’s good to know I’m not the only one! Great post!

    • Trixie permalink*
      March 22, 2010 5:56 pm

      Absolutely… Everyone comes across new paths all the time, we just have to choose the right one for the moment.

Leave a Reply

