Skip to content

Lessons Learned From Passing Balloons

April 5, 2010

credit

Depending on the wind direction, each morning in Melbourne town you may be graced by the incredible sight of the cloud of hot air balloons that tip-toe over the city at dawn. It’s a sight that has been stopping me in my tracks, literally, for about five years now, and it never, ever gets old. I think part of the reason I am an early -riser is the hope that I’ll see them that morning. They’re a little bit of magic that floats above your everyday life and everyday chores and makes you stop as you spread your toast with peanut butter, or make your cup of tea, and appreciate the moment.

Want to know a few things this obsessive balloon watching has taught me? 

  • My city is amazing. 
  • Everybody sees the world differently 
  • Something magical is happening right now! You just need to be open to seeing it
  • Every day is individual, special and new. It’s your perceptions and actions that decide if this is true for you
  • Remember to be present, to be aware, and to look around
  • Never forget to look UP. There is so much beauty up there that gets missed: light, sunsets, clouds and other clichés, buildings, people on balconies, birds, planes full of excited and nervous people, and dancing plastic bags

Have you seen something magical today?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. dollyasylum permalink
    April 6, 2010 10:33 pm

    What a cool post! And a beautiful photo! Y’know I never even knew about this phenomenon!!!
    Makes me want to get up early….sort of..(I’m NOT a morning person!) haha, no really, i would like to see it!
    Melbourne is awesome. I haven’t been here for that long, but I’m already very attatched. I’m way more familiar with Sydney, but I actually really cannot stand being there. I don’t know what it is exactly about melbs, but I’m definitely in love with it!
    I’m a bit of a cloud watcher. I dig clouds. (with a MASSIVE shovel).

    P.S. Having a giggle at that tweet on the sidebar about the drug smuggling! 😀

    • Trixie permalink*
      April 8, 2010 1:30 pm

      They’re so beautiful, it’s just so expensive. It’s like 300 bucks to go up. But you do get champagne and breakfast. I think. I hope.
      Melbs is a much more human and planned city, it’s beautiful, easy to navigate and inspirational. I ❤ Melbourne FOREVER. I’m so glad I moved here.

      -“Passing balloons taught me to not shove a kilo of drugs up my clacker”

  2. April 7, 2010 1:45 pm

    Aww this is a lovely entry. I’d rather not live in the moment right NOW because I’m at work and I hate it 😦 but after 5pm my day will be fabulous hehehe. I do like hot air balloons reminds me of around 10 years ago when I was living somewhere that had balloon festivals it amazed me!!! x

    • Trixie permalink*
      April 8, 2010 1:09 pm

      A balloon festival! Oh my god, I’d totally wet my pants!

      And may I add, only two weeks to go, then you’ll never have to go back to that place again. Is there anything at all about your current job that you might, one day, maybe, miss? Just a little?

  3. April 9, 2010 8:24 am

    “Never forget to look UP” — love that, so true! Sometimes I’ll look up and see one of those little planes that have a message for someone, a kid’s lost balloon or just pure blue.

    • Trixie permalink*
      April 14, 2010 7:17 am

      Ah bliss! Blue expanses are so soothing, I guess that’s why everyone wants to live next to the ocean.

  4. April 13, 2010 12:45 am

    What a cute post, something magical is happening right now, what an amazing thought. I would love to go in a hot air balloon it is on my to do before I die list

    • Trixie permalink*
      April 15, 2010 10:39 am

      Oh absolutely! I can’t wait to sail over my suburb and squeal ‘oh! there’s my apartment!!’

Leave a Reply

