Skip to content

The Number One Most Ace Thing To Do To Get That Awesome Apartment

May 20, 2010

 credit

Or house. Or artist’s loft. Or palatial estate. 

Whatever

The absolute number one, most important, best thing ever that you can do to get that apartment is to get your application in first.

The absolute number one way to get your application in first? Have your forms all filled out, copies of ID attached and ready to roll before the inspection. Hand it to the agent when you first see the place. Within five minutes preferably. Ok, maybe 11. But you’ve usually only got 15 to decide. So CHOP CHOP.

Before going to an inspection visit the real estate agent’s website and download a copy of their application forms and fill that sucker in. As soon as you start looking for a new rental put together a folder containing all of your references’ contact details, photocopies of the kind of ID they usually want (utility bills with your name and address on them, driver’s license, passports, key pass cards, that sort of thing) and all the personal data you need for filling out application forms. The aim here is speed and having all your deets and attachments ready to go makes this processes much faster. If there’re a few of you all applying together put all everyone’s info in the one file so that whoever is off to look at the house that day has everything they need. 

Sometimes the agents wont have the applications on their websites (fools!). If this is the case go see the house/apartment/warehouse sub-division carrying your super-folder-of-important-application-information, then if you decide to apply, grab the form from the guy/girl in the suit standing in the lounge, fill it in while standing in the kitchen (I hope it’s nice!), attach required ID (which you have copies of in your folder) and march up to that agent with a smug look on your face -this is not optional- before thrusting the completed application right in their face. RIGHT IN THEIR FACE. Ok, perhaps don’t be that aggressive. (Maybe at this point, if you think they might have more places you might like, ask them for a couple of extra forms, you can photocopy them so that next time you’ll have your application ready when you walk in the door. DON’T THANK ME. I know I’m awesome) 

Time is money. The agent isn’t going to hunt through all the applications to find the tenant who is JUST RIGHT. Get your application in quickly (preferably first) and provided the landlord doesn’t decide to give your dream home to his nephew who’s moving to the city to do vetinary studies, you’re already in with a 35-50%  chance rather than one in ten. Getting in first makes your life, and their job easier.

My other hints?

Wear great shoes. Compliment their taste in business wear/earrings/pens. Bake cookies. 

Maybe that’s just me.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 4:07 pm

    When I was househunting a few years ago, if I wasn’t first getting my application in, they’d give to someone who got in before me but when I was super organised and got in first they’d give it to someone with a higher income, better job, nicer shoes or whatever. Sometimes you can’t win. I ended up going to a private renter and using begging!

    • Trixie permalink*
      May 21, 2010 10:15 am

      Sometimes you can’t win. Apparently people here in Melbourne have been offering more rent in order to get the place they want. It was getting ridiculous at one point. There sure ain’t nothing you can do in the face of that. With my current apartment I went in as a student with a part time job trying to rent a place to myself. No partner, no boyfriend, no help. So I wrote her a letter, put on my nice shoes and got in first. There were couples and families looking at the place but I got it. Perhaps there was more to it, I don’t know. But it worked for me!

      I’m guessing the begging worked? What did you say?

  2. May 20, 2010 5:14 pm

    I thought this was going to say “show boobs” ;-P x

    • Trixie permalink*
      May 21, 2010 10:06 am

      I literally guffawed at this. This is where I’ve been going wrong all my life.

  3. dollyasylum permalink
    May 20, 2010 10:48 pm

    It wouldn’t matter when i got my application in or how much effort i make to be nice/look nice- I’ve been super quick before,and done ALL the right things, but “Single mother with mental Illness” translates to most as ” Loser.Not worth giving a fucking chance”.
    Sorry to be a downer, but that’s my experience…and not just in matters of real estate.Luckily I was just able to renew the lease where i am right now for another year, so i don’t have to worry. But only because i was lucky enough to get the help of my Ex. Sorry about the negativity. Sometimes being positive just feels like I’m simply being delusional, and just sets me up for more disappointment.

    On a happier note,when you scroll down the page while looking at that photo, it looks sorta like it’s growing/moving! Well, i guess it is moving because of the whole scrolling motion..but try it, you’ll see.
    Also i hope that if you have applied for somewhere cool that you get it!

    • Trixie permalink*
      May 21, 2010 10:05 am

      I totally agree with everything you’ve said, it’s all true too. Throwing yourself at the feet of some suit in the hope that they’ll deign to allow you to live in some scummy apartment can be soul-crushing. Same with job hunting. No matter what you do the person making the decision has their own criteria, their own priorities and quite often their own relative that they’ve already promised something to. It’s totally bullshit. And there’s nothing you can do about any of it. But in the face of all this, the only thing you can control is yourself and your actions. So having something you can do and can control that may improve your chances (even just a bit) is better than nothing at all.

      Also this: “It wouldn’t matter when i got my application in or how much effort i make to be nice/look nice- I’ve been super quick before,and done ALL the right things, but… ” is pretty much how I feel about how my job search is going. That is to say; not well.

      If all else fails, do as Katie says and “show boobs”. 😛

      • dollyasylum permalink
        May 21, 2010 2:03 pm

        I hope you have better luck with the job hunting SOOOOOON! It’s quite tiring having to try to “prove ourselves worthy” to people constantly, over and over. I admire your resilience, and really really do hope you end up with the position you want and deserve!
        Sorry again for the downer. It’s nearly my birthday, and i always get depressed at that time of the year.

        I’m going to start getting my ladylumps out on a regular basis!

      • Trixie permalink*
        May 25, 2010 10:10 pm

        HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU AND BOTH YOUR LADY LUMPS. When is the day of joy?

        The job hunting has given me an epiphany so I’ve switched tactics. Also AMAZING PLAN is in the works. CRAZY STUPID PLAN. But that’s all I’ll say for now.

Leave a Reply

