Skip to content

Random Tuesday

June 29, 2010

It’s too cold to write about anything too deep. My fingers are all dried up and wrinkled from the cold, even my nails have gone blue!

Oh wait… That’s just my nail polish.

Random notes from Chez Bonheur (soon to be renamed The House Of Cake)

Two heaters on and electric blankets warming. WINTER I LOVE YOU even though I had so many heaters on and electrical equipment running that I shorted out my power-board while ironing and watching DVDs

I just worked out how to have all my emails directed into my computer’s mail client. AMAZING! It even makes a wooshing noise when mail’s sent off. It satisfies the deepest and most childish parts of myself

Reading. When I was doing my degree I did nothing but read. Problem was, I didn’t do it for enjoyment. Seriously, I only just started to read and buy books again, it’s amazing. You can’t expect to create or be insightful in a vacuum. You need to have the raw ingredients to process in order to produce something original.

Things I’ve been reading:

  • Troublesome Words: Bill Bryson
  • Frankie Magazine, piles of it in fact. 
  • Lessons of a Lipstick Queen: Poppy King
  • The Culture Club: Craig Schuftan- If you are interested in music, art or simply interesting ideas, then you have to read this book! A discussion on how modern art influenced modern music and back again.   

I love setting up my new accounting system. For a three pronged business such as the one I’m developing I went high-tech. I bought a teal blue notebook from OfficeWorks, divided it into three sections (Writing, Craft, & Web), ruled one side of each page from income, and ruled the other for expenses, decorated with pink text and stickers, and admired it! Now I’m gunning to get some income to record in it! Bring on the New Financial Year!

I love my city. I love my city so much that I made these:

I got crafty

From left to right: Eureka Tower soft toy, My Ear, Melbourne Central Batman building soft toy and the Eureka Tower pin-cushion 'cushion'.

 

Eureka Tower- Melbourne

Eureka Tower- Melbourne

 

Melbourne Central- The Batman Building

Melbourne Central- The Batman Building

 

Part of my GRAND PLAN, the one I mentioned last post, is to have a weekly market stall, and sell things that I design and make. This is so that I can cover every aspect of my creative self, and have a variety of income sources, hopefully making poverty and living on  noodles and broccoli much less likely.

These are part of a collection that takes the doily concept from the Linden exhibitions and expand on it. Expands until it totally a different creature altogether. I declare that it shall be grand and amazing. Look out of me freezing my arse off at a market near you soon. I’ll be bringing a variety of nanna-style Melbourne-love-trophies of various sizes and prices points, and …lollies!

I’ve got so many great ideas for this project. Stay tuned!

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 3:46 pm

    I love the Melbourne love. I’ve never been to Eureka Tower… must do that.

    • Trixie permalink*
      July 1, 2010 1:57 pm

      It has to be one of my favourite buildings in the whole city. When I moved to Melbs they had just started building it, so I feel like we’ve gown up and developed together. I ❤ Eureka

  2. June 30, 2010 5:22 pm

    Hooray, that sounds fantastic! I wish I lived in Melbourne so that I could come and visit it!

    Love those towers – I’ve been to Melbourne twice but sadly, never visited either. MUST do it!

    • Trixie permalink*
      July 1, 2010 1:58 pm

      I bet you’ve got some pretty awesome artist’s markets up your way Corrine!

  3. July 1, 2010 3:50 pm

    I love Melbourne! I’m not such a fan of winter though.. I’m a WIMP 😛

    • Trixie permalink*
      July 6, 2010 10:02 am

      Not likely, from what I hear NZ is often COLDER. You’re probably a winter lover in disguise!

  4. Gill Maguire permalink
    July 2, 2010 2:10 pm

    They are adorable! Especially the Batman building! Is it really called the Batman building after John Batman or is it because of the ears.

    Love XXXXXXX

    • Trixie permalink*
      July 6, 2010 10:04 am

      Thank you! I don’t actually know what the building is called, but I call it the Batman building because of the ears.
      Next time you come up you’ll be able to come hang out at the market with me!
      Love right back atcha
      xxx

  5. dollyasylum permalink
    July 6, 2010 12:05 pm

    Awww, you made skyscraper soft toys! That’s the cutest. I am pretty smitten with Melbourne too. It is so damn COLD lately, but i still love it to bits. I have no family here (apart from my kidly), and a VERY limited friend base, but i seriously cannot imagine living anywhere else for a very long while. I’m hooked.

    Sorry i’ve been absent- been concentrating on creating (ha! That rhymes!), and neglecting the blogosphere and it’s evil procrastination aiding ways.

    And reading. Ohhhhh yes. Books are joyous things. Glad you’re feeling inspired! ♥

    • Trixie permalink*
      July 6, 2010 2:30 pm

      I know exactly what you mean about Melbs. I was literally just thinking about how I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else!

      The internet sucks all the creativity outa me, so I’ve been doing the same thing! My reader is up to 400 unread posts and I’m not going to have it sorted out any time soon. Right now there’s too much to do, and when (if) I start my writing course mid-month, I expect to have less time for the netz than I do now. Even though it can be a great motivator to have to post new content on a regular basis, it’s a huge time suck, (as evidenced by the fact that I’ve just lost 1 and 1/2 hours and have only managed to read a couple of emails.) Shoot.

Leave a Reply

